Recipe Wednesdays: What’s-in-the-Cupboard No-Sugar Flapjacks

I used to make this type of flapjack quite regularly after finding a recipe somewhere in the depths of the internet, but I know have no clue which recipe it was or where it can be found. So I’ve gone rogue.

This weekend we had 3 bananas leftover in the fruit bowl that were just a bit too ripe to be eaten on their own, so what better excuse to bake! Bonus points for using up loads of random last bits and bobs from the cupboard.

Really for this recipe all you need is:

  • A couple of overripe bananas
  • A bit of butter
  • A squeeze of honey (for sweetness instead of using tonnes of sugar)
  • Some oats

But for my particularly tasty flapjack of this weekend I also added:

  • Raisins/sultanas
  • Dried apricots
  • Mixed seeds (sunflower, sesame, linseeds, etc)
  • Dried cranberries
  • Mejool Dates
  • Cacao nibs
  • 2 squares of dark chocolate

You’ll notice I haven’t really included amounts for the ingredients, mainly because I have no idea how much I used. I pretty much just kept adding things until it was the consistency that I wanted.

The method is so simple it’s unreal!

  1. Melt the butter.You only need a tiny bit of butter for this so don’t go overboard. I think I used 2 tablespoons max.
  2. Get a big bowl and mush the bananas until they look like baby food.
  3. Chuck the butter and everything else in the bowl with the banana and stir.I probably should have taken a photo of this so it’s easier to see what consistency you’re looking for, but basically just make sure it’s not runny, and not like clay. Somewhere in between is the sweet spot.
  4. Grease a cake tin, or tray, and then throw your mixture in. Press it down with the back of a spoon so it’s nice and compact with a flat top.
  5. Stick it in the oven for about 20 mins on 180°C, or until it’s firming up in the middle but not burnt around the edges.
  6. Cool on a wire rack, cut it up, and tuck in!Occasionally if I’m feeling a little adventurous around easter time I’ll melt down a chocolate egg and then spread it over the top of the flapjack once it’s cooled. Stick it in the fridge so the chocolate solidifies and then cut it up. 

fullsizeoutput_2bcc

This is such a great little healthy treat to go with your mid-morning coffee. It’ll soothe the sweet craving with no guilt. Winner!

Let me know if you try this out or experiment with ingredients so I can get some more inspiration! I’m interested to hear if anyone tries adding flavours like cinnamon or nutmeg.

Leave a Reply

