Clinique Skin Care Routine

About a year and a  half ago I was in the midst of an undergrad final year, part-time job, dissertation juggling act while trying to maintain a social life. It was tough, and I realised that my skin tended to be the way that I would realise when I’d been stressed. As a student I’d been pretty tight with my cash and so stuck to cheaper brands for my skin care, and only splashed out on a few expensive make-up products occasionally.

It was during this time that I decided I needed to get myself clued up on skin care to avoid having to cover my face in concealer every day to hide hideous breakouts. I was earning a bit of money at this stage so I figured I could splash out a little, and that my skin was worth the investment.

I scoured the internet for reviews, reading every blog and watching every youtube video to decide which brand I should try, eventually settling on Clinique. The 3-step routine had extremely mixed responses. People either loved it or hated it, but it seemed like the most positive responses had come from people like me who wanted to control breakout prone skin.

Armed with my internet knowledge I went to the Clinique counter at House of Fraser in Guildford. The sales assistant was lovely. She sat me down and went through a simple questionnaire on her iPad to determine what skin type I was and to recommend products that I should be using. She then grabbed testers of the products that the questionnaire had brought up and tried them all on my skin as she talked through the routine I should be following.

I have type 3 skin – combination oily. (Links to all products at the bottom of the post)

Step 1: Liquid Facial Soap – oily skin formula
After washing my face with this my skin feels super soft and fresh.

Step 2: Clarifying Lotion – 3
Some online reviews had said that this formula was too harsh for their skin, but for me this is just right.

Step 3: Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion+
What I love about this moisturiser is that it sinks into the skin really quickly so I can do my makeup almost immediately after, and it keeps my skin hydrated all day long without leaving it feeling oily.

IMG_2954

Looks like I’m going to need to replace steps 2 & 3 soon!

The sales assistant also recommended a few additional products for me to incorporate into the routine including the Turnaround Revitalising Serum. I was a bit skeptical of this extra product actually doing anything and suspected the assistant might be trying to sell me as many add-ons as possible to boost her sales, but in situations like this I tend to be quite British and just pay the money rather than having to awkwardly refuse. I figured, if it was pointless I just wouldn’t buy it again.

To my surprise, putting the serum on before the step 3 moisturiser actually makes a difference! I’ve found that it specifically helps keep my T-zone and chin under control so I don’t get too shiny by the end of the day. I definitely search for a matte finish rather than a dewy glow.

Since then I’ve stuck to Clinique like glue and have expanded my collection to include the Exfoliating Scrub, which I use about 3 times a week instead of step 1, and the Universal Face Primer.

IMG_2955

Altogether I’ve found that this is the perfect combination for my skin at the moment, and Clinique is definitely my brand right now.

I’ve listed links to all of the products that I use below, but I recommend that you go into a store and speak to one of the sales assistants before buying to make sure that you’re getting the right products for your skin.

If you have any recommendations for other brands/products that you think I should try, let me know!

Products:

Leave a Reply

