Bircher Muesli Breakfast

I came across Anna Jones’ website a few months ago and finally got around to trying one of her delicious recipes, which was too yummy not to share with you all.

I won’t bother running through how to make it, as that’s Anna’s job, but definitely check out the video and try yourself.

http://annajones.co.uk/videos

Over the past year or so I’ve tried a few different ‘overnight oats’ recipes but none ever seemed to get the perfect balance of liquid to oats so that I’d end up with the perfect consistency of porridge in the morning. They always end up a bit too liquidy, or like you didn’t bother putting liquid in at all. Anna’s recipe is perfect. I thought the 100g of oats to 350ml milk was the perfect balance to give me that nice gooey texture in the morning.

The best thing about bircher muesli, as Anna says in her video, is how incredibly easy and versatile it is! Last night I decided that I wanted to go for a swim in the morning, but I knew that if I didn’t have a quick breakfast planned I’d end up taking my sweet time concocting a lazy Sunday delight, resulting in me not being bothered to leave the house for the remainder of the day. This recipe was the solution.

Last night while I was washing up after dinner I prepped the muesli and left it in a sealed container in the fridge. It took me about all of 5 minutes.

This morning I got up, put the kettle on, spooned out half of the muesli, chopped up a deliciously ripe peach, added some sultanas, made myself a brew. Breakfast sorted in the time it takes to make a cup of tea.

#nofilter

#nofilter

I’ll definitely be trying this again, and can’t wait to experiment with different fruits, flavours, and spices through the seasons!

You should all definitely give this a go!

Leave a Reply

