Valentine’s Day… Thoughts?

What?! January is almost over already?! Well that went seriously fast and it must mean that dun dun duuuuun… Valentine’s Day is just around the corner.

It’s that time of year when your Facebook feed gets clogged with all of your loved up friends looking, well, all loved up, and all the singletons getting frustrated with said friends.

I find this a really fascinating time to cyber-people-watch (aka a good ol’ Facebook stalk). Who got the cheesiest present? Which singleton was found crying over a bottle of wine and Bridget Jones? Which strong, independent woman decided to write a dissertation of a Facebook post about how much she hates the whole concept of the day? Personally, I sit on the fence. I think it’s nice to have an excuse to express how happy you are, however, I can appreciate that it is a massive commercial holiday.

When I was little, every year I receivedĀ a card from ‘Cupid’ (aka Dad), as would my sister and my mum. We’d come downstairs in the morning to find the kitchen decorated with love heart bunting, and a big bunch of roses, chocolates, and all sorts of valentine’s themed trinkets. I always thought it was quite sweet that my dad would put that much effort in and as cheesy as it all was, we all loved it.

However, now I don’t live at home Cupid doesn’t reach me. Cries. Haha I joke, although I do feel a bit sad. Kind of like the sadness you feel as a child when you find out that the easter bunny isn’t real. You probably won’t cry over it but it’s a kind of deflating feeling.

I think the year I moved out was the year my feelings changed about Valentine’s Day. The boyfriend and I have an agreement that we don’t do presents, and we don’t book a table at a nice restaurant about a year in advance. We just make sure that we spend the day together, cook a nice dinner, and have a cosy night in. We reserve the presents and fancy restaurants for birthdays and christmas. Firstly, because I’m a student and presents cost money, and secondly because I guess we’re just not as sentimental about our relationship as other people are. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong at all with making a big deal about anniversaries, etc, but we just choose not to work that way. If I’m completely honest, I can’t remember the date of our first date, first kiss or when we first met, so even if we wanted to celebrate an anniversary I doubt we’d be able to agree on a date!

I went from celebrating Valentine’s Day like it was Christmas to not celebrating much at all!

I now see it as a day to appreciate the things that you love and make you happy. It could be anything. A Partner. Family. Friends. Yourself. A Hobby. A Bit of Peace and Quiet. A Good Book. Music. Chocolate. Wine. A Movie. A Bubble Bath.

So this is how I will be spending my day. I will make sure that I take time out of my often quite busy schedule to surround myself with things that make me happy.

How will you spend yours?

Leave a Reply

