The Most Important Meal of the Day

BREAKFAST!

I love breakfast. At first it may seem that cereal is the be all and end all of a morning feast, but it is oh so much more that that!

Getting creative in the kitchen is also a fantastic way to add a splash of goodness to your diet by incorporating those all important vitamins and whatnot. But if you’re anything like me, you haven’t got time to get all Jamie Oliver before you’ve got to run out of the door to get to work or that pesky 9am lecture. So this is what I do to make sure I’m setting myself up for the day in about 5 minutes.

You’ll need:

  • 2 Weetabix
  • Semi-skimmed milk
  • 1 banana
  • mixed seeds
  • honey

And basically chuck it all in a bowl!

The great thing about this is that you can use any base that you want. Weetabix, porridge, cornflakes, quinoa porridge (I’m going to try this soon so I’ll let you know how it goes); or even granola.

Personally, I don’t like cold cereal (especially in autumn/winter) so I break the weetabix in half, pour the milk over and put them in the microwave on full power for 50 seconds. (This leaves just enough time to cut up the banana and get everything out of the cupboard.) Yes the weetabix will end up looking like baby food but it’s still just as yummy.

Eat Healthy

I’m not a calorie counter or weight watcher, and I like food. A lot. So all I do is try to not put rubbish in my food.

  • I always use UHT semi-skimmed milk. I heard once that semi-skimmed is healthier than skimmed and i’ve just rolled with it. I guess it’s what you’re used to. And i use UHT just because I’m a student and it means I can keep 6 cartons in my cupboard and don’t have to carry a heavy fresh carton all the way from the supermarket every week.
  • Adding mixed seeds gives your breakfast a nice crunch and they are also a great source of fibre which keeps your digestive system nice and healthy. The seeds I have at the moment include: sunflower, pumpkin, sesame seeds and golden linseeds.
  • Banana = 1 of your 5 a day! Any fruit will do though. I used banana this morning to give me that extra energy boost as I was heading to the dance studio.
  • I like to put a drizzle of honey on top to give it a bit of sweetness and nothing more. A drizzle will do, no need to have your brekkie swimming in it. Not sure how healthy that would be…

As Weetabix right said, “#TastiestMessEver”

Sunday breakfast may look a bit messy but it was super yummy! #weetabix #seeds #banana #honey

Sunday breakfast may look a bit messy but it was super yummy! #weetabix #seeds #banana #honey

Leave a Reply

