First Tastes of Adventure

2014 began with me realising that I had never been on holiday without family or a university trip. I hadn’t taken a gap year before starting university, and I was beginning to feel like I hadn’t seen any of the world. The fact that my boyfriend had spent a year travelling after he graduated. He’s always coming out with stories about when he was in India or Vietnam or China or New Zealand; and quite frankly I got jealous.

Time to book some flights! We soon realised how difficult it was going to be. A fight between how much annual leave Pete could take; my limited funds from an unpaid placement year; and trying to find somewhere that Pete hadn’t been to before, ensued. I was absolutely determined on that last point. I didn’t want him to spend all of our time reminiscing his travelling days.

So we finally made a decision. We were going to Sydney to spend a week and a half with Pete’s best friend who moved out there last year; and then go island hopping in the Yasawas, Fiji.

I’d go back to either of these places in a heartbeat. I miss the chilled out way of life already. Why can’t everything be done in ‘Fiji time’!

I think it’s safe to say that my first taste of adventure was a bloody good one!

Leave a Reply

